News & Views

New Rules of Golf 2019

New Modernised rules of golf from R&A. These changes will come into effect from 1st January 2019.
Click here for a summary of the changes, or to see YouTube demonstrations Click here 
New rule books are available from the clubhouse & the Pro Shop.

Ladies Captain’s Charity Day

A very succesful Ladies Captain’s Charity day was held in the sunshine on 27 August where over £350 was raised for the Great Orme’s head branch of the RNLI. Ladies Captain, Hilary, thanked everybody who supported the day by taking part in raffles, giving donations and those who played on the course, which was wonderfully presented by Danny and his team of green keepers.

Congratulations to Julie Cowing, who won the 13 hole stableford competition.

National Eisteddfod Open Competition

Congratulations to all the prize winners who played in the National Eisteddfod Open Competition at Maesdu on Wednesday 7th August. We look forward to welcoming you to Maesdu again in the near future.

Special thanks to Menna, Derfel and the team of volunteers who made the day a great success.

To view the results please follow the link

President’s Day 2019

Despite the awful weather conditions there was a great turnout for our President’s Day Competition this year.  Congratulations to all the prize winners and special thanks to our Club President, Mrs Lorna Walmsley.


The Aberconwy Trophy is a 72 hole Stroke Play Competition played at Maesdu and Conwy each year.  Huge congratulations to all competitors who took part in this year’s tournament .
Congratulations to the winner Jacob Davies with an overall score of 288.
Maesdu is extremely proud of our very own Reuben Bather who achieved best junior competitor with a very impressive overall score of 305.
Both courses were in excellent condition, so thanks to all the green keepers and volunteers. A special thanks to all those behind the scenes who quietly make everything happen.

Please click here for results

Captain’s Drive In 2019

The History of the Captain’s Drive In. The driving-in ceremony pays homage to the early days of some of our more ancient golf clubs when the captain was not selected or elected by the club membership, as is the custom now, but won the title through a golfing competition. The captain would be the champion golfer of the club, a position achieved by winning the annual club championship.

Today, only the Captain, Lady Captain and Junior Captain drive off at our 2nd hole and, in the absence of any other competitors, they are declared the winners of the competitions to find our new captains.

This year our drive in was on Sunday 7 April. All the past Captains came along in their red jackets to see our Captain, Mr David Richardson; Ladies Captain, Mrs Hilary Roberts; Junior Captain, Reuben Bather; and President, Mrs Lorna Walmsley.